• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Juror Rights

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sogrady17

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NY

I was called to be on a civil trial and asked if I could provide an unbiased account while serving during this week. I explained that I am a graduate student and I would be missing classes this week, but I agreed that missing one week of classes would be acceptable. However, now the deliberations are extending beyond this week and I'd like to know what the consequences will be if I do not show up next week? As I need to attend my classes next week or I will suffer academically and may even receive in-completes and I have midterms next week. I am very upset that as a juror I have no control over what is going on and I am wondering as a juror what can I do about this situation????

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
Communicate with the court about your concerns. Simply "not showing up" may land you in jail.

Mass_Shyster

I suspect the penalty for abandoning your duties will be far more severe than the consequences of missing a few classes.

See http://www.nyjuror.gov/juryQandA.shtml#NotReport

Jury duty, like paying taxes, is mandatory. Skipping jury duty can result in civil or criminal penalties.
[

quincy

You should contact your local Commissioner of Jurors and ask to be excused (not to say that your request will be granted, however).

Edit: sogrady17, IGNORE THIS POST.

Thanks, tranq, for the correction. :)

Last edited:

tranquility