• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

My lawyer does not give me any detailed bill, but ask me to pay more when case done

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

zijins

the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NEW YORK, NY

Sorry my story is a little long, hope you can be patient to read it and give me some advice. Thanks so much!

At the beginning of my divorce case, the lawyer asked me to pay $1500 as case preparation fee and $350 as court fee (I am not sure this is for court room and judge or for lawyer's court work), but there was no written or oral agreement about my case (This is my first time to use the lawyer, without any experience, I did not know it was neccessary until yesterday). During my case, all the bill I received from him are $250 for filling fee for docket Number, and $150 for Summons served on my ex-husband by a sheriff. He never entioned the other $1450.

Also, the lawyer made my divorce case lasts for 18 months, we do not have any child, my lawyer always said I can get alimony from my ex-husband, but just several days before the court day, the lawyer told me I would get nothing from him because he lose this job, so the lawyer did my case as uncontested. (This is fine since I have waited 18 months, I just wanted this done as soon as possible)