• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

protect myself from Defamation of Character

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

cklx215

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Pennsylvania

I am a college student and was being sexually harassed and reported the guy but all the school did was to end contact. Now, I sent an e-mail out to the students and my teachers everything about him and the school found out and claiming he can sue me for it because he was not found guilty, and my report on him was just an accusation. Now my concerns are, how much could he sue me on? my income? and how can I protect myself from being sued? Please help.

Proserpina

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Pennsylvania

I am a college student and was being sexually harassed and reported the guy but all the school did was to end contact. Now, I sent an e-mail out to the students and my teachers everything about him and the school found out and claiming he can sue me for it because he was not found guilty, and my report on him was just an accusation. Now my concerns are, how much could he sue me on? my income? and how can I protect myself from being sued? Please help.
Until you are actually served there perhaps isn't a whole lot you can do outside of apologising profusely and perhaps publicly for what you said although others might advise that this is an admission of guilt. Depending on the nature of what you did actually say you may be best advised to consult with an attorney.

Was he ever formally charged? What were the nature of the allegations? Did you send the email before the matter was resolved, afterwards, when?

cklx215