• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What constitutes "Legal Advice"?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

PLMM8468

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Pennsylvania

I fear the answer to this question is an all-encompassing one, but that's why I'm asking. I am a Paralegal student and have been told from day one that I'm not allowed to give anyone "legal advice". Even common sense advice is now off limits if it involves any kind of legal action or information. But what about just explaining what the law says? Can I tell someone it's illegal to speed? I'm going to get just a little more technical.

This is all fake: My cousin Sarah tells me that since filing for divorce, her husband is making the home a grievous place to live. He yells at her and the kids, talks bad about her to his friends on the phone, loudly, and the children have to constantly hear about how "Mommy doesn't love us anymore", etc. Now I know for a fact that I can't tell her to seek an award of exclusive possession of the residence, but if she found out about this on her own, could she ask me to explain what it means?

Can I just tell someone what the law says as long as I don't throw in any advice or direct someone one way or the other?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Pennsylvania