• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What would you do? Clerk of Court Problems

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

masmith79

Jurisdiction: North Carolina
County: Johnston

First and foremost, thank you for any help and/or advice. Second, in the interest of full disclosure, I am a licensed attorney in North Carolina but do not practice at this time.

Background: My wife and I listed our home for sale in 2012. In February 2013, a prospective buyer made an offer, we countered, and she accepted. As part of the signed offer, the prospective buyer had to remit earnest money in the amount of $1,000. Per the sales contract, a party responsible for delay in settlement or termination of the contract would be in breach. The non-breaching party, per the contract, is entitled to the earnest money. Settlement was set for April 1 w/ a 14 day grace period.

The prospective buyer failed to obtain financing by April 1 and subsequently elected to stop attempting to obtain financing on or about April 24. As a result, the contract was terminated and the house was put back on the market. The prospective buyer then refused to sign a release of her claim on the earnest money.