• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Help

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Marierobinson24

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Mississippi

I have been working for a woman for 5 years. Recently my car messed up so she agreed to purchase a car for me and I would make payments of $200 a month I have completely kept up my agreement. Well now I no longer work for her due to personal and financial reasons. She called this morning and said she wants her car at her house by noon my car is in her name and everything! I called the local police department they said she could not do this!! How do I go about getting my car out of her name!! Please help!!

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney

I have been working for a woman for 5 years. Recently my car messed up so she agreed to purchase a car for me and I would make payments of $200 a month I have completely kept up my agreement. Well now I no longer work for her due to personal and financial reasons. She called this morning and said she wants her car at her house by noon my car is in her name and everything! I called the local police department they said she could not do this!! How do I go about getting my car out of her name!! Please help!!
The easiest way to get the car in your name would be to pay her in full, although, I suspect that you can't afford to do that right now. Do you have a written agreement? Are you presently behind on payments?

Proserpina

If that car is hers legally, she absolutely has the right to retrieve it.

Zigner

If that car is hers legally, she absolutely has the right to retrieve it.
Not so fast there...