• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Which State's Law Applies?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

parquet

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Massachusetts

I bought a used car that turned out to be a lemon. The transaction took place in State A, the car was registered in State B, and the car was subsequently registered in Massachusetts where I am a resident.

Under Massachusetts' lemon law I am covered, whereas I am not in the two other states. Would MA law apply in this case? Thanks in advance!

Edit: This was a private party sale if that matters.

Last edited:

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Massachusetts

I bought a used car that turned out to be a lemon. The transaction took place in State A, the car was registered in State B, and the car was subsequently registered in Massachusetts where I am a resident.

Under Massachusetts' lemon law I am covered, whereas I am not in the two other states. Would MA law apply in this case? Thanks in advance!

Edit: This was a private party sale if that matters.
State A's laws apply.

justalayman

parquet Which state offers the best protection for consumers in regarding to the lemon law? - Yahoo! Answers

The link above says that I would also have recourse in the state in which I live. Is this incorrect? Thanks.
To start with, your state doesn't have personal jurisdiction over the seller. They also do not have matter jurisdiction because the transaction took place in another state. This was not an interstate sale so you cannot invoke some long arm statute either. The laws of the state where you made the deal are what are going to apply.

parquet

Hi Stevef,