• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Any grounds for me to file a lawsuit?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

camhabib

I recently found out that for the past year, an acquaintance of mine has been telling friends, family, and customers of hers that I was her fiancé. While not horrible on its own, she has apparently told countless false stories, about how I would abuse drugs, have illicit relationships with prostitutes, physically and mentally abuse her, and so forth. I am a medical professional, and while I don't think any of this has harmed my business or professional life, I feel violated and upset. I have tried to contact her several times about this but she refuses to speak. This occurred in Rhode Island, I live in Boston.

What are my options as far as the law? Where any criminal laws broken? Is there anything I can bring a suit against her for? Any help is appreciated.

FlyingRon

Not criminal.

Absent any harm, it's unlikely you'd get anything in a lawsuit worth the effort. You don't get compensation for "feeling violated or upset." Defamation actions have nothing to do with your feelings, but rather that the statements made to others cause you some tangible harm. You could try a libel pro se based on the allegations of criminal activity, but even that's likely not to be particularly fruitful either.