• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Boss' Email

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

retailemployee

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Illinois
I work in retail and at my work we have two computers which all of the store employees use. Recently I have been attempting to get a promotion at work and I was offered the position. However, I was offered significantly less money than what I know others in the same position earn. I politely declined the promotion by sending an email to my manager.
Hypothetically, if my manager did not sign out of his work email on one of the work computers and I saw that he and two other managers had said some unkind and untrue things about me and my work performance, could I sue the him/all of the managers involved/the company? Or could I get in trouble for invasion of privacy?

Proserpina

I work in retail and at my work we have two computers which all of the store employees use. Recently I have been attempting to get a promotion at work and I was offered the position. However, I was offered significantly less money than what I know others in the same position earn. I politely declined the promotion by sending an email to my manager.
Hypothetically, if my manager did not sign out of his work email on one of the work computers and I saw that he and two other managers had said some unkind and untrue things about me and my work performance, could I sue the him/all of the managers involved/the company? Or could I get in trouble for invasion of privacy?