• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Defamation Lawsuit

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

outcoldace

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Georgia

Please help me!!! I am currently a state officer in the state of Georgia. I applied for a position with a federal law enforcement agency 1 1/2 years ago. I was going through the hiring process just fine until I had to have a background investigation conducted. The investigators wanted to speak with my supervisors and they did. However, my agencies policy states that all employment verifications must go through personnel. Personnel can only verify my title, dates of employment and salary. However, my supervisors totally defamed my character. They stated that I was manipulative, liar, not a team player, didn't use good judgement, not eligible for re-hire and the list goes on. They also stated that I had several written write-ups in my file which is totally false because I don't have any at all. I have a few oral reminders but those don't get placed in your file. My supervisors also stated that they heard I smoked marijuana and that I had a warrant out for my arrest. Both of those statements are totally false and can be verified to be false. My supervisors listed reprimands that never happened or listed a oral reminder as being a written reprimand to the investigator. All of this information was provided to the federal law enforcement agency and I was ultimately told that I was out of the hiring process due to my supervisors saying that I had 6 to 7 reprimands... that didn't even happen. I was able to see what my supervisors said about me because I requested a copy of my background investigation from the agency that