• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Defamation ?? Not sure what to do.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

rmissin

Hi I'll stick to the valid points, maybe a little tricky.

I'm a freelancer and member of a well known Australian based freelancing/outsourcing website.

After winning a contest, the contest holder chose to leave what I believe to be defamatory comments in his review, this is the comment.

"No doubt he will get even with me for this review ;) The truth must prevail. xxxxxx is a very unreliable and dishonest person - Avoid.

In the Code of Conduct within the T&C of the site it states this:
Communication

I will:

avoid exaggeration, derogatory remarks, and inappropriate references
not engage in personal attacks, negative or other unfair criticism or other unprofessional conduct
Seems a clear cut breach of the T&C to me, I don't mind being criticized for my standard of work, or receiving critical feedback about my work, but this comment is vindictive unprofessional and unnecessary.

I've been in contact with the "support" section of the website who insist I settle this situation "amicably" with the contest holder, and so far have refused to take down the review.
I have no amicable relationship with this person.

I'm unsure where I stand, or what I need to do to make them remove this comment, defamatory take down notice ?, who sends this, me or a legal rep ? etc etc.

Appreciate any and all advice .

tia

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
First of all, this forum is for US law only.

Here in the US, what was posted would be considered opinion. Stating an opinion is not defamation.