• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Defamation through an online forum. Is there any grounds to sue?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

saddlemaker

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Texas

Ok, well let's continue getting the free advice before I consult an attorney.

I am a business owner who is outspoken on several forums about the state of the craft, the industry etc... rarely politics.

There are a few people on those sites who seem to delight in pushing my buttons. They are easy to push admittedly.

My question though is when they make statements of "fact" about my business, saying I cheated or stole or provide bad quality goods which are 100% untrue do I have any legal grounds to sue the people who said those things, or in the case of the speakers being unknown to sue the forum for allowing such attacks to be ongoing.

I have always been the type to ask accusers to show proof of their allegations and none have. It's not as if I am trying to hide any bad actions from being revealed. I have no problem with anyone who can prove their accusations and if I am in the wrong taking my lumps publicly. But I am at a loss as to how to combat the outright lies told by a few trolls who seem to get off on watching me respond.

And to be perfectly clear, I cannot simply ignore these comments. It is my personal experience in this business that if an accusation is left unanswered on the forums then a percentage of the readers will simply believe it at face value.