• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Do I have any rights here?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Lisawoo

I'm an independent contractor w/ a large social media following. I generally work in Ca doing marketing and as a film/tv actress.

I was hired by a marketing company at a specific rate due to my public personality and following. After completing the first day on site, even staying an additional 2 hrs, I was notified that the rate changed, & would be significantly lower than what I originally signed. The company stated they notified me & the other influencers, but this was universally incorrect. I was soon released from my position due to this issue, & the clients not only slandered my name & professionalism (which is false), but is refusing to pay my additional hours worked. Do I have any rights?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
I'm an independent contractor w/ a large social media following. I generally work in Ca doing marketing and as a film/tv actress.

I was hired by a marketing company at a specific rate due to my public personality and following. After completing the first day on site, even staying an additional 2 hrs, I was notified that the rate changed, & would be significantly lower than what I originally signed. The company stated they notified me & the other influencers, but this was universally incorrect. I was soon released from my position due to this issue, & the clients not only slandered my name & professionalism (which is false), but is refusing to pay my additional hours worked. Do I have any rights?
Sue the bad guys in small claims court.

quincy