• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Explicit Photos Posted Without Consent

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Stanley25

What is the name of your state? Michigan

So...I have an Odd issue that is embarrassing to post, but I am going to ask.

And before you read on, yes this was beyond stupid on my part. I completely regret this, feel horrible about this, and have no idea why I was so stupid to even do this.

Recently I had found some amateur photos via a p2p network which I had downloaded. I eventually reposted them on a newsgroup.... I don't know why, but I did repost them.

Anyway, sometime after doing so I received e-mails from my newsgroup provider about copyright infringement over these pictures. What's worse, and totally stupid on my part for reposting them...is that the file names did include this woman's name and city she lived in.
They didn't have an address, phone number, or e-mail or anything... but regardless they had some personal information with them which is what will probably make this even worse for me.

What I'm wondering is what could I face over these if it was taken to court? I'm not totally sure that it is, but I know the supposed owner of these pictures did report these posts. Maybe they just wanted to attempt to have them removed...but I fear the worst.

Again, I know this was horrible and stupid....and I regret it. But I would like to know what the laws are regarding a situation like this.

quincy

This is a copyright issue and not really a defamation issue, from what I understand, right?