• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Libel / Defamation?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

MeatRo

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Missouri

I am a website designer and I had a client with whom I recently terminated the account after I learned they were involved in unethical practices. Their market is loosely supervised and so I made a website that told about their business practices and took the website off of the server. I did this as an independent contractor with no conditions of their ownership of the website, its content or that I had to leave it online for any period of time, so I'm not worried about that.

I'm not really worried, more curious about what could happen to me for publishing a website that explained to the public basically what they were doing and why I believe potential clients of theirs should search elsewhere to do business.

Everything that I published is 100% truth and I provide perfectly logical explanations of how their business could not possibly operate ethically. I'm fairly certain that if a libel/defamation case were to be brought against me, the only thing they could do is sue me for whatever money they can prove they've lost as a result and/or to have me ordered to remove or retract anything I've published. If that's all they can do, then I would rather publish it and be sure that people know that they should not do business with this place.