• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Looking for some insight and direction

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Brandonc

Looking for some insight and direction Can I take legal action?

I am currently a resident in Nevada. in Dec 2009 I posted an ad on Craig's list in ; Portland Oregon * Clark/Cowlitz WA , targeting the Vancouver Washington Area for an advertisement for a massage therapist that wanted an ad placed. within about a week of posting the ad myself and the therapist received an email from the Board of Massage Therapy of Oregon advising that the posting must be taken down as the advert is for practicing in the state of OR without a license.

However in this case since Craig's list is geographically targeted where I posted the ad ( ; Portland Oregon * Clark/Cowlitz WA ) falls under the area as to where Vancouver WA is located. The ad itself addressed Vancouver WA and stated nothing in reference to Portland Oregon.

In march 2010 I received legal documentation that the Oregon Board of Massage therapy had made a subpoena request for the information from Craig's list and has cited and charged me with civil penalties of $500 dollars for practicing massage therapy without a license in the state of Oregon.
I reponded to their citation in writing with no response. originally when the email came from when the post was made on craigslist that email was also responded to and still no reply from the state of Oregon.