• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Parody site of a famous person

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

hbutt

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New Jersey

I'm a photographer. I was looking to start a parody site that involves dressing in a very specific likeness of a famous person (included would be a mask worn of said famous person's likeness), and holding up a sign that'd be intended as a parody quote of the famous person's that'd be submitted by a visitor of the site.

For instance, a user visits the site, submits a quote, and i then put it on said sign, hold it up, and take a photo of myself with it.

Can I be sued for defamation or be held libel?

I was reading about parody laws and it seems unlikely.

I also realize this is likely one of the odder scenarios that'll hit the forum for some time.

Thanks

quincy

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New Jersey

I'm a photographer. I was looking to start a parody site that involves dressing in a very specific likeness of a famous person (included would be a mask worn of said famous person's likeness), and holding up a sign that'd be intended as a parody quote of the famous person's that'd be submitted by a visitor of the site.

For instance, a user visits the site, submits a quote, and i then put it on said sign, hold it up, and take a photo of myself with it.

Can I be sued for defamation or be held libel?

I was reading about parody laws and it seems unlikely.

I also realize this is likely one of the odder scenarios that'll hit the forum for some time.

Thanks