• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Slander/Defamation in GA workplace

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

bobcatou

What is the name of your state? Georgia

I am a teacher at a public high school in Georgia. This past week, I had a disagreement with the attendance clerk at my school (Ms. P). The disagreement was documented by email, and it related to our duties and responsibilities as it pertained to an online school information system. Immediately following this disagreement, Ms. P. posted a notice on the door of the restroom in her office stating it was "for office personnel only", though I was the only one who was verbally reprimanded for using this restroom. I was also asked not to use the restroom by the secretary in another office down the hall. I assumed this all related to my disagreement with Ms. P., and continued to use the restroom and told her it was the property of the Board of Education, and not her personal restroom. At this she became extremely irate and began to scream at me, use profanity, and nearly injured my hand when she slammed a door in my face.