• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Slander and harrassment?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Bdon24

What is the name of your state? Nevada

I have been working for a company for two years, and have been promoted several times since starting work. One of the promotions is what seems to have started all of the problems. We have a woman that works here, and has worked here off and on for about 8 years, and in the last year has been constantly "sick" and misses at least one, but more often several work days a week. I was promoted to a job title that is similar to hers, with a job description that is similar as well, though I still retained all my old duties, my promotion basically just added more of what she used to do. She has admitted that she is no longer up to doing all aspects of her job such as going out into the field (part of her old and my new job description is outside sales). I knew when I was offered this job I would be up against certain resistance from this woman, because though she could no longer effectively do the job, that didnt mean she wanted anyone else doing it either. Anyway, she is by no means my boss, more like my equal in job titles, we are both managers. She (soon after my promotion) started making snide comments to my face, and also to other employees that I work with. She started making a habit of coming into my office 5 or 6 times a day to ask me what I was working on, which after a while begins to grate on the nerves, since what I am doing in MY office is not really any of her business. I handle a VERY large workload, and do not appreciate comments to the effect that I am not working when I am in my office, I am doing god knows what. Const