• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Slander In the work Place

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

theknewguy2000

What is the name of your state? Colorado

I am very curious about what to do. I received and email from HR about a lady in a different dept that broke her arm and needed a ride to and from work for a while. The email was sent out to all the people living in a curtain city (about 60 miles from work) and I noticed that there were people on the list that I had worked with and see daily. First off I am a help desk tech and I am out on the business floor all day talking and interacting with people. I sent and email to one women (who I am not attracted to but see walk by my desk all the time) and said “Hi How are you? You live in springs too? (The town we live in) I didn’t know there were sooo many people making that crazy drive each day." This was totally innocent I thought. Well I get called in by a few friends later in the day, they asked me if I emailed her and I say yes and then they inform me that she is telling people I am a SLALKER!!!! I have never said one thing to this woman before this. My question is is there anything I can do about this, I work in a company of 800 people that I see face to face every day and really don’t want a reputation for something that I didn’t do. HELP!!!!

K

krispenstpeter

And what should we help you with? It's her opinion that you are a stalker. And her opinion means little unless HR decides to do something about it.

As for you, there is absolutely nothing you can do. Except of course, keep work e-mail out of your private life.

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

theknewguy2000 said:
What is the name of your state? Colorado