• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What's My Options?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Hsterling

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? New Mexcio

There is this gal that two people for a fact have come right out and said that they won't use my business anymore because of the lies she has told them about my work. I train and shoe horses for a living and recently had a clinic scheduled with a club in Carlsbad and out of the blue the people I had scheduled to shoe their horses and were also participating in the clinic pulled out with no explantion other than they heard bad things. I got to doing a little research of my own and all the people that just pulled out became friends with this lady on Facebook the day before they pulled out and cancelled. What are my options on sueing this lady for defamation, and slander?

swalsh411

Without knowing what was said you have no case. It is not illegal to tell a person you don't like a particular business or recommend that they not go there. "Bad things" isn't nearly specific enough.

Hsterling