• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Workplace Defamation

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

s_arena024

California

I have a employee of mine that is constantly giving me issues in the workplace.
Two weeks ago this employee texted me ( I'm a manager of my store ) in this text she stated 'another employee will be taking my shift' I informed her that texting me telling me this is not proper procedure. She replied with I have a family emergency. I told the employee that the following day the she was scheduled she was suppose to be validating her training for another employee and she never replied. I assumed regardless of our conversation that she would be having it covered. The following day she shows up to her shift with an aggressive attitude towards me so I sent her home because clearly what ever was going on in her personal life was influencing how she was acting at work. She was clearly upset by this. I texted her later that evening trying to reach out and show my concern by asking her if I could get her shifts covered for the rest of the week. She called me insensitive and I apologized to her and that was that still no resolution. As the days progressed throughout the week nothing was resolved she got further shifts covered and refused to speak to me. Mind you I am not the GM of my store and she has done nothing about this situation. Yesterday she is scheduled to work on my shift and she comes in with a terrible attitude towards me again, so I try to talk to her so we can move past this situation and she tells me that she does not feel comfortable speaking to me alone. I inform her that her attitude does not create a healthy work environment and she makes me feel unc