• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Life insurance or Disability insurance ?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

musicgold

Hi all,

I am a newbie here.

I read the following sentence in a book: Statistically, you're more likely to be disabled than to die prematurely.

That makes me think that I really need disability insurance than life insurance. I am in my mid - 30s and have term life insurance.

What do you think about my view?

Thanks,

MG.

ShyCat

Yours is not a legal question, so you're on the wrong website.

If this is spam seed, as I suspect, it will be deleted, so don't bother registering as another user and replying with a oh-so-helpful link to some website you're trying to advertise.

Some Random Guy

This is not a legal question, but a matter of personal choice.

Your need for disability insurance will depend on its price, the likelihood of your getting disabled (based on both luck and the nature of your profession), and what alternatives you have if you are disabled without insurance.

You really have no need for term life insurance. Your beneficiaries do. And their needs will drive how much term insurance you should have.

DeniseM