• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

common-law cohabitation in Texas

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

damore

Regarding a common-law marriage...What is the legal length of time a couple has to cohabitate in Texas, after making their agreement to one another to be married, in order for their common-law marriage to be valid?

las365

I'm not a lawyer, but if I recall correctly from when I went to paralegal school a looong time ago, the elements for a common law marriage in Texas were:

1. Agreeing between the two of you to be married
2. Representing to others that you are husband and wife; and
3. Living together as husband and wife.

I don't think there was a time element. I could easily be wrong, though.

Why do you ask? No one can give you advice for your particular situation without context.

damore

cohabitation

I know that in order to have a valid common-law marriage you have to pass a three-prong test.
(1)We signed an agreement, and (2)held out to the public as married by filing taxes together. But the Texas Family Code doesn't give a specific amount of time a couple has to live together, it just says "after the agreement they lived together in this state as husband and wife..." I've looked everywhere to find out how long you have to live together in Texas, but can't find any documents. After signing our common-law agreement, we lived in Stafford, TX. together for 4 months, vacationed for 3 months, then came back and lived in Stafford another 9 months. Is there a legal amount of time you have to live together in Texas for the common-law marriage to be valid?