• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Dont know where to start

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

L

LJD

I left a longtime hurtful marriage two years ago. I had not been allowed to work and had no control of finances. I married the day I graduated and he works for the govt so no Social Security just his pension and our savings. We have two grown children and one 15 yr old that lives with him due to the fact he can provide much better than I can at this point. The only access I have to our finances is a credit card that I mainly used for childrens gifts and personal things. I stopped using this in December due to my childrens abusive notes about my being a leech. My husband has had access to all funds and savings since then.
I devoted 27 years to raising children, a home and a small farm while he went to work, but just want to be free at this point.
I have contacted a few lawyers but they all say I will have to return to Florida for trial and the retainers are far above what I can afford (Australias dollar is half in value of Americas) Stress is a big factor in my health and I am terrified at the thought of facing him again.
I am in a new relationship and hope to stay here and start over.
I just want to be free and not do any damage to my family in Florida.
I would really appreciate it if there are any suggestions as to what I can do. I am really out of ideas
Thank you for your help

LJD

vrzirn

It is obvious you are not a fighter and therefore, no wonder you permitted him to walk all over you for so long. You are entitled to your share of his pension and whatever assets you acquired during the marriage.