• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Advice??

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Localsun77

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Indiana

I was called into work and told that I was being placed on suspension pending termination for some narcotics not accounted for. I've been a nurse for 14 years and take great pride in providing excellent care, I was shocked and lost for words sitting there. I have always put my patients needs first and had an instance where I have a dose of morphine IV but had forgot to scan it. The oncoming nurse gave the patient morphine and the daughter had said that I just gave it earlier. I tried to correct the matter but emailing my supervisor and taking a new syringe out and this time I left the syringe in the drawer which was found by an oncoming nurse. The unit I work on is insanely busy and I'm not using that for an excuse but it is. I had another patient that was receiving 3mg every 2 hours and he set his alarm too it. We ran out multiple times and pharmacy had to restock us. When the record was printed off from pharmacy it showed that 3m dilaudid was unaccounted for and I'm pretty sure that I scanned him. I told them that I wanted a drug test which was negative, they did. It want to give me a drug test at first. I figured though I'm probably already fired but I have 14 years vested in this place and never an issue before so now I am concerned about other implications and I don't feel like I have anyone to talk too. I would appreciate any advice.

Proserpina

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Indiana