• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Compulsory Drug Test at OBGYN?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Advocate46

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Texas

First, a little background information. I am a veteran and I receive medical service at the VA because of Migraine Disease occurring during my service. I am originally from California and after being given every pill for migraines and none of them working, I sought out my own private doctor who actually prescribed me Marijuana... Please I don't want to debate any political ideologies about it. I just need a solid answer.

I now live in Texas and use marijuana when I get a migraine attack (which occur usually for a couple days a week) and of course, it is not legal for medical use here.

My fiance is pregnant and I did smoke around her until we found out about the pregnancy. Well, since I am a graduate student and she is undergrad, we signed her up for Medicaid so that she would be able to receive prenatal care. At her appointment yesterday, we went through a questionnaire with a nurse about my fiance's health, drug use, cigarette use, etc. Then my fiance had a urinalysis and blood-work done. Following that, the nurse came back in to inform that she had tested positive for THC in her urine sample.

Nowhere was this disclosed to my fiance and I have been by her side to both appointments she's had so far.

Is it legal for a doctor to drug test a patient without any informed consent?

Thank you

I also should say that this situation has devastated my fiance because doesn't think she can trust the doctor now. She feels like they should have disclosed that to her, which she would have taken anyway.