• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Dentist Discussing Teeth With Other People

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jas01

Hello everyone, I have a question that I'm hoping someone here can answer...My mom was referred to a dentist by a good friend of hers. She had an upcoming situation and she wanted her teeth to be presentable. Her friend gave her the name of the doctor and she went. My mom told me the doctor discussed her teeth among other things with her friend in front of workers as well as other patients. Because I'm a medical student I told her that he was breaking HIPAA's privacy rule(?) I'm not 100% certain so I guess my question is did he do anything wrong and are there any actions my mom can take. She's humiliated and doesn't want to show her face at that dentist office again. Any and all thoughts are welcome and thanks in advance. :)

Proserpina

Hello everyone, I have a question that I'm hoping someone here can answer...My mom was referred to a dentist by a good friend of hers. She had an upcoming situation and she wanted her teeth to be presentable. Her friend gave her the name of the doctor and she went. My mom told me the doctor discussed her teeth among other things with her friend in front of workers as well as other patients. Because I'm a medical student I told her that he was breaking HIPAA's privacy rule(?) I'm not 100% certain so I guess my question is did he do anything wrong and are there any actions my mom can take. She's humiliated and doesn't want to show her face at that dentist office again. Any and all thoughts are welcome and thanks in advance. :)

You perhaps need to go back to school and look at HIPAA laws again.