• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Drug test without patient consent

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

dm72185

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Maryland
I went to a new doctor regarding a lower back problem. I was sent for MRI and also labs. Doctor discussed with my husband and I what they would been taking blood for. To my surprise, I received an EOB for over $3,000 for blood work. Since I have been doing medical billing for over 11 yrs, I questioned this especially because I have a coinsurance on all out-pt procedures which includes lab work. I find that they did all of the testing discussed during the OV but neglect to inform me that they work going to test me for drugs as well. First of all, is this legal performing this test without my knowledge or for any reason? Second, I would have never consented to this test because this doctor is not my pcp. I only went there because I could not make the 160 mile drive to my primary and this doctor was closer to home. What about my rights? Where the hell do they get off telling me everything but that? Do I have to pay for this?

Last edited:

ecmst12

It is legal and within the standard of care. You consented to the treatment which means any tests the doctor deemed necessary. As to why they didn't tell you, I have no idea, you'd have to ask them, but you can't consent to only parts of a doctor's treatment.

lya

I disagree. The patient only consented to a urinalysis for detection of infection; the patient did not consent to a drug test.