• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

HIPAA Violation

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

wvbirdlover

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? WV
I was treated in the ER recently and disclosed to the attending physican and nurse I was taking an ADHD drug without a prescription. I work in retail with the sister and niece of the nurse. I was discharged from the ER at shift change. I told no one about my ER visit. Within 3 hours of arriving home a friend of the sister called my parents (I am a 30yo btw) and told them I had overdosed on ADHD meds (not true) and that I was being fired! I immediately called my place of work to confirm this. In less than 6 hours word had spread to fellow employees and customers that I was addicted to ADHD meds and had overdosed! The niece of the nurse took it upon herself to post a full page notice on the bulletin board detailing my ER visit and what was "wrong with me". I was removed from the weekly schedule at first then was terminated the following week. At the meeting where I was terminated I was told repeatedly and constantly reassured this had nothing to do with my ER visit and that the nurse had not told her sister and niece anything about my ER visit. I sensed that they were in CYA mode. Should I retain an attorney? File a complaint with the hospital? Contact DHHS? Thank you for any advice you might have.

ecmst12

You can file a complaint with the hospital and/or the HIPAA board, but they will investigate and tell you nothing.