• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Hipaa violation or no hippa violation?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

SmiLinEyes

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Tennessee

I have a co-worker that I have known for several years as well as her husband. They were going through a divorce & his cousin was in my lab where I worked as a PBT & I drew her labs. My co-worker stated to me that she was going to divorce court the next day, and I stated to her..."Shane's(the husband) cousin was in the lab today asking questions, but I told her I didn't know anything about anything. My co-worker replied with "Oh, Shane's family & I are good with each other". Did I violate the HIPAA law with what I said to my co-worker?What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

lya

Yes; you violated HIPAA. You revealed protected information for reasons not directly related to the function of your job or as allowed on a "need to know basis". This, of course, only applies if your employer/facility is a covered entity, which I am inclined to believe it is.

ecmst12

If you had simply said that you SAW this person, without saying WHERE you saw her, and only mentioning anything you talked about that was unrelated to the reason she came to the lab, that would not be a violation.

Medic334

Telling someone that you saw another person in the lab is NOT a HIPPA violation. Now if you told this same individual that "Oh yeah I drew her labs and she came back positive for drugs"...then that would be a HIPPA violation.

Your remark is tantamount to me saying that I saw someone in the ER in the normal course of my work related duty.