• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

HIPAA Violation - Who is responsible, the employer or the employee?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

csim01

My question involves public health law in the State of: South Dakota

I'm an IT guy, so I apologize if my lingo is a little foreign to anyone. I'll try to keep things as plain-English as possible, but please do ask for clarification if this isn't making sense.

I work as an Information Technology admin for a healthcare clinic. Without providing too many details, when I was hired, there were several issues with the infrastructure including weak passwords, lack of thorough data backups and security issues. All of these were in violation of 45 CFR §164.306-308 (HIPAA), which lays out the guidelines for Administrative Safeguards.

During my time of employment, I have unofficially (e.g., verbal communication) recommended that I be given the resources to improve our backup infrastructure, make changes to company policy to ensure patients' privacy and upgrade hardware. Of course, the further I dug in to these internal HIPAA audit self-checklists, the more daunting the task had become. I was making progress, and thought "hey, the company is better today than it was a year ago, so I have nothing to worry about as long as I keep working on it."

Out of nowhere, a hard drive failed that was inside of a network-attached storage. This device was used to do two things: a) house daily backups from the server and b) store private company data that was to be kept off of the server for extra security. This device was kept in office in a separate room from the server.