• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Lack of information

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

peachtree00

I am a Rhode Island resident.

I recently had a CT scan with IV contrast performed at the ER. I went to the ER due to left side flank pain. The doctor said she wanted to perform a CT to check for bowel inflammation. I drank liquid contrast, then was taken to the CT room. It was when I got there that I realized I would also be receiving IV contrast. I asked the tech performing the procedure why I would need the IV. He stated it was because there was only a little of the contrast agent in the drink. I was hesitant, but I figured the doctor had a good reason for ordering it as such.
I signed a waiver stating that I could have a severe reaction to the contrast, but that my doctor had weighed the pros and cons. The tech inserted the IV and performed the test. He didn't tell me what to expect, just inserted the line and left the room to start scanning me. After it was done, he just told me that transport would be there to bring me back soon.