• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Refused meds in jail

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

bbarger435

Hi, I was incarcerated for 30 days in Hendricks County, Indiana approximately one year ago. I am now a state level College student majoring in IT. I brought this up to a criminology major, and they advised me what they did was illegal.

I have been taking Dioxepin for 6 years now. I take it for chronic hives and breakouts. My medicine was brought to the jail, and I put in a request to see the doctor. I was taken to the doctor, and she laughed at me and told me there was no way I was getting my prescribe medicine because it is a "sleeping pill." Nor was I getting anything else, as my hives looked like dry skin. I was in disbelief and suffered for the remaining time in jail.

Is it legal for them to refuse my legally prescribed medicines I have been taking for years now? Should I seek council and take more action? It still aggravates me to this very day. Thanks.

rmet4nzkx

The medications has several actions. It is a TCA that is a form of antidepressant and may cause some to sleep, others to become manic in addition to helping with hives. If you have chronic hives the reason for hives should be sought and treated, however if they only looked like dryskin it doesn't sound as if there was any great urgency to treat. The 30 day drug vacation didn't hurt you. You should ask your psychiatrist to adjust your medications.

bbarger435