• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

release of medical records

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

M

mrstt45

What is the name of your state? oklahoma
my mother wa diagnosised with gallbladder problems, but her signs and symptons indicated something else. Being a nurse i went with my mother on Dr. visits and we requested her pcp refer her to a GI dr. because there is a hx of colon/stomach cancer in her family. This went on for several months, without the referrel. Well my mother died about 6 months later of stomach/colon cancer. The PCP discharged her as a patient for "non-compliance" because she wanted a second opinion before consenting to surgery for removal of the gallbladder. My problem is due to our state law uless someone else reads medical records and say we have a case of misdiagnosis we cant go to court. The Dr.s will not release the records to us without probating her estate,for a heffty fee and i can't afford it she only had a half acre of land. Being a natural child i thought i was intitle to these records especially since she put me down as a person to release information to. They are claiming Hipaa, is there a grandfather clause to this, she died in 2001 before hipaa. I filed and got the year extention to refile my case i did it myself pro se but i have less than three weeks to get it refiled but without he records i can't proceed and due tho the cost and time no lawyer will help unless i got records. Help!!!!!

ellencee

mrstt45
Time is not on your side.