• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Active Duty Soldier Needs Help!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

MilitaryVet24

Located in Alabama

I have a question about my legal options. My story is below.

I am an active duty soldier. I was diagnosed with degenerative disk disease and 2 bulging disks with mild stenosis in 2009. I had corrective surgery in August of this year. My surgeon recommended the standard 6-10 weeks of convalescent leave. My unit, being the who cares philosophers they are, approved the first. 30 days of my leave but then denied the remaining 30 and forced me to return to work prematurely. The worst part is that when I asked why I was being forced back early they told me they had talked to my doctor and he told them 30 days was enough recovery time. Turns out they were of course lying. I have certified letters from my surgeon and military doctor stating they were never contacted or gave clearance for me to return to work early. I have since developed extremely sharp pains and my legs have been affected. My physical therapist thinks it is due to my being mobile before u should have. I had my 6 week follow up with my surgeon last week and he has ordered all new MRIs and x-rays to check the device that was placed in my back and could have to potentially remove it because the fusion was derailed by me not resting the appropriate amount of time. My unit has not taken responsibility and will not respond when questioned about what my doctors said about never being contacted. This has pretty much put me in the same boat as before I had surgery. Is there anything I can do against my unit and commander. The don't care and refuse to acknowledge the situation. Can I