• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

army reserve discharge advice

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mara68

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state? NY
I am a captain in the army reserves who participated in the new specialized training assistance program. I have received loan repayments and stipend money. I have not done OBT and am currently pregnant. Since I was appointed 2/00 I have come to realize that my recruiter lied to me on two issues which we discussed and were known to be deal breakers for me. First, although as a doctor I technically have non-combatant status, I can be deployed to a combat zone, will be required to carry a gun and to shoot at people. I cannot do this. My job description as my recruiter told me (yes I am aware that he lied now) was to back-fill in hospitals stateside or in non-combat zones abroad for those active duty doctors that would be pulled to a combat zone. The second issues involves the family care plan which I am required to fill out (my husband is a major in the army reserves). I was assured by my recruiter that married reservists with dependents were never deployed at the same time. I will never fill out the family care plan and give over custody of my children to someone else as long as I am alive. I am not sure of how to approach these problems but I am willing to repay the government no matter how long it takes.

Davidzill