• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Article 89

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

badfish138

So, I'm a Senior Non-commissioned officer. I work with several civilians, and recently got into a "heated exchange" with one of them (a GS-13) and told him to "get the ef outta my office, get the ef outta my face, effin' beat it," etc. Didn't threaten him or anything. At any rate, a LTC (who, incidentally has no UCMJ authority) in the other room heard the exchange and apparently wrote a sworn statement in hopes of UCMJ proceedings. I'm a little over a year from retirement. I have documented medical issues concerning "anger". Don't really want to go into that one much. I will say that while I'm brash and whatnot, I've never received a rating below 1/1 on my NCOERs.

My questions are as follows:

1. What is the likelihood of my command actually entertaining this and pursuing punishment through UCMJ? I have absolutely no pattern of misconduct.

2. If they do actually pursue UCMJ based on only the one sworn statement, should I go ahead and request trial by Court Martial?

Any help and/ or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

ERAUPIKE

1. What is the likelihood of my command actually entertaining this and pursuing punishment through UCMJ? I have absolutely no pattern of misconduct.
You have a 50/50 shot, they will or they won't. Patterns of misconduct are not relevant in UCMJ proceedings until the punishment phase. In other words, everyone messes up the first time. You may get held accountable for your actions but it depends on factors that you didn't disclose.