• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Court Martial long term problems

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jgh23

What is the name of your state? Alabama.

I was an Air Force Officer and was court martialed in 1990. The crime was fraternization with an enlisted women. We were stationed in Canada at the time. Now, I find that I cannot purchase a handgun or rifle. In Alabama, fraternizing is not a crime, so I am not guilty of anything. I can vote and have all other rights one normally has. I have been issued a concealed carry permit pursuant to a background check with no problem due to the fact that the background check only checks for criminal backgrounds. I find there is no remedy for my situation other than a Presidential pardon perhaps. There was once an office run by the ATF that dealt with restoration of rights but it has remained unfunded and unmanned since the Reagan era. The time frame has elapsed for appeling to the Board of Military Records Corrections and I believe a case was heard by SCOTUS that said that Federal Judges in individual states could not restore the right to own a firearm, once that right was taken away. Does anyone out there have a solution to my problem of not having firearms ownership rights?What is the name of your state?

SHORTY LONG

As a former Officer you were Federally convicted for the Federal crime of fraternization,
and it is either a federal misdemeanor or a full blown federal conviction, thus Federal
Law trumps State Law.

At this time, unless you can amount an upheaval defense for the Board of Military
Records Corrections, then, the only avenue for possible relief would be what you posted, a
"Presidential Pardon."