• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

DoD Changed Rules on Selective Continuation

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

gdmarsh

I am a separated Air Force veteran, due to policies of DoD Instruction 1320.08, March 14, 2007, where the application of policy changed, April 2012.

As I understand from Air Force Personnel officials, the continuation policy always allowed military members to continue until retirement, if they had less than six years remaining.

With over 14 years of honorable military service (in other words, I have less than six years to retire), I am interested to continue my military service. If anyone can provide help 1) understanding why I cannot be accommodated under the old application of the policy, or 2) if I am able to be accommodated under the re-written instruction, April 2012.

Why I was discriminated in either case, I do not understand. Assistance with either (or both) option(s) is most appreciated; I really need a friend, here!

I've been attempting to get these answers on my own for a very long time, and finding an expert is very difficult.

Last edited:

OHRoadwarrior

The old deferral rules did not allow extension beyond 5 years it appears. You don't get to call them up and demand to be reinstated. I understand it used to be considered proper for an officer to leave the corp when he went a certain amount of time without promotion. That does not coincide with your recollection.

gdmarsh

OHRoadwarrior, I understand I can't "demand to be reinstated", but there should be some recognition by leadership why there was such an extreme (and first-time-ever) omission of this policy with one very small group of officers.