• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

General Discharge and Security Clearance

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

52nempwv

What is the name of your state? VA
I AM a USN officer who was recently admin separated for fraternization. I was given a gen (under honorable conditions) for reason of misconduct. I served for almost ten years and this was the only blemish on an otherwise perfect record. I have been offered a contracting job that requires me to maintain my clearance.
My question is, what are the chances of keeping my secret clearance and what is the possibility of ever acquiring a T/S?

Last edited:

fozzy2

I suppose the first question is: Was your security clearance revoked while you were in the military/being discharged? If your job routinely included handling classified material, then if your clearance was revoked you should have been informed. On the other hand, I'm not certain what procedures are for people who have a clearance but not access (by default, every commissioned officer in the US military has a 'secret' clearance).

At any rate, when you go to process your civilian clearance your discharge is going to be a huge question that needs to be adjudicated. Security clearances are given on a "case by case" basis, based on the results of the security investigation. There are guidelines for the adjudicators, and you can find them on the web at:
http://www.dss.mil/nf/adr/index.htm