• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

do I have a leg to stand on? adverse posession?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

beck4ever

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Iowa
Ok, background---I am new to this.
Homeowner of current home just 2 1/2 yrs. Rear yard completely fenced in upon purchase, neighbors state over 10 yrs. There was not permit taken out for this fence, so I cannot prove that time frame wihtout getting a hold of the previous owner.
Neighbor "A", no fence,however maintains yard 10+ feet beyond mine 25+ yrs.
Neighbor "B" fenced their yard just before we moved in...equal distance to ours. We didn't think to have to double check lot lines or survey in this situation.
Problem: our yards back to condo assoc.'s back yards (unmaintained for entire ownership time of the land)..shoulder high weeds, little grass, fallen over trees). All of the sudden, they are disputing lot lines. we're on theirs.

Neighbor "B"'s fence addition (3 yrs ago) sparked condo assoc's attention...they now state "it's their land". Review of original lot lines prove that we, as well as both neighbors have been maintaining approx 15 ft of their land.

Neighbor "A" has lived in his home over 25 yrs, always had maintained the yard without issue from the landowner, prior to his building of the condos.

The assoc had a lawyer prepare an "agreement" for us to sign to continue to use "their" land. Basically saying we can continue to maintain it, but can't do anything further...can't build or change anything...yada, yada....AND they can pretty much take it back whenever they want. Hmmmm.