• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Do I need a notary

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

nerdgirl50

Hi All,

Newbie here. The situation: I currently share a well with 4 neighbors. There is an existing Agreement stating that all 5 families share in the duties/expenses of running the well.

We are currently in the process of all getting individual wells. As a result, I put together a termination agreement (based on the previous Well Agreement and using language from a few boilerplate termination agreements.) All the neighbors looked it over, agreed to all the terms said it looks fine and they're happy to sign.

The Question: The final page of the agreement is includes a signature page with spaces for each of the 5 neighbors to sign (it includes their name, address and date of signing.) Do I need to get this agreement notarized? I was under the impression that just the 5 families (who are in agreement) signing it is fine.

Many thanks in advance for any/all advice.

FlyingRon

All a notary does is certify the identity of those who signed the document. While it will certainly support the document, it's not always essential.

nerdgirl50

Thanks. And coincidentally, a friend who's dealt with this type of thing before happened to just call and confirmed it. No notary necessary.

Thanks all!

FlyingRon

I can think of a place in the US that this is not true.

Our OP should really tell us what state this matter is occurring in.
Well, yes, they are often empowered with administering oaths and certain other quasi judicial.