• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

property line fence

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

rockbone

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? ky.bought a property 7 years ago in ky that was just raw land.i am a horse farmer and wanted to put up some new fencing so i talked to both my neighbours on either side if they would split the cost of the new fence and they both said yes...nothing in writing..anyway i put the fence on the property line and it looked great.after sending a bill with the fencing breakdown ..one neighbour paid me but the other never did..sent a second bill and same result. they had no livestock so i kind of just left it alone but 2 days ago they put cattle on their side so we now share the fence. i rang them today to remind them of the fence plan years ago and asked if they would now like to make a contribution but got a resounding NO...they have electric fence tied into the board fencing at the top of their side.i did not include the painting of the fence or the faceboards in the original billing just to be fair to them or so i thought. any advise???

FarmerJ

Are you 100 % certain this fence you installed is right on the lot line ? or is it just a couple inches to your side of the lot line ?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
Your verbal agreement happened 7 years ago?

Statute of limitations on oral contracts in your state is 5 years.

You have no legal remedy to recover their portion of the cost of installing the fence.

rockbone

not so much the money...but the fact the guy went back on his word and now has cattle with a lovely fence to keep them in for free

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney