• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Replace Fence

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

caresident07

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? CA

Hello. This is my first time owing a home. I just bought my house in January. There is a beautiful willow tree on my side of the fence and some of the branches cross over to the neighbor. From what I understand, the neighbor can cut any branch that is over to his fence, but he came and cut my tree right to the trunk and left all the branches on my side. This was before I completely moved in (I was still moving my stuff in little by little). I went and talk to him and he apologized for coming to my side and cut my tree. Then, he said he would like to talk about the fence. He would like to replace the fence and asks how we are going to split the cost. I told him I will talk to him after I moved in, which I am now. The seller of my home had put those cheap rolling bamboo fences on my side. When I went to look at the fence from my side, there is a chain link fence in the middle between his wooden fence and my bamboo fence. Am I still responsibility to help replace the wooden fence?

Thank you.

tranquility

California Civil Code
841. Coterminous owners are mutually bound equally to maintain:
1. The boundaries and monuments between them;
2. The fences between them, unless one of them chooses to let his
land lie without fencing; in which case, if he afterwards incloses
it, he must refund to the other a just proportion of the value, at
that time, of any division fence made by the latter.

justalayman