• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Test

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

San Jose

Exclusive easement

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law ) CA

My property has a 5 foot exclusive easement that runs the entire length of one of the property lines. My neighbor owns the property that the easement is located, I am the holder of the easement.
My new neighbor removed the landscaping and poured concrete on about 1/3 the length of the easement.
It wasn't until this happened that I studied the property map and realized that the easement ran the entire length of the property line. That is when I realized that another 1/3 of the easement had already been concreted and fenced off before I purchased the property.
So now I only have 1/3 of my easement available to my use.
I don't know how to approach this problem. Would the title company that secured the title for my property when I purchased it be a good place to get help.
I don't know if I should approach the neighbor first or get professional help first.
Thanks for any help, advise.

Last edited:

San Jose

When was the purchase?

Was a survey done at that time?
2002. I don't think a survey was done. We did get the map and CCRs which spell out the exclusive easement details at time of purchase. I have to admit the first 1/3 easement intrusion got by me, I totally missed that at purchase.
Thanks

LdiJ

2002. I don't think a survey was done. We did get the map and CCRs which spell out the exclusive easement details at time of purchase. I have to admit the first 1/3 easement intrusion got by me, I totally missed that at purchase.
Thanks
What is the purpose of the 5' easement?

San Jose