• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Bank declaring fraudulent check > $414 deducted from my account

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Erikdmunky

What is the name of your state? Florida
Customer (the thief) located in California.

Hello,
Im hoping somebody on here could enlighten me on an issue regarding a fraudulent check that was cleared into my account and now is being deducted long after I sent the merchandise. Ive been buying and selling online for a few years now and this is the first time Ive run into something like this for Ive always tried to do everything I can to protect myself from online fraud.
On April 1'st, An ebay user of +1 year with perfect feedback purchased an Air conditioner from my store.

April 9'th - I recieved a Bank of America personal-Electronic check for $414 and deposited it into my Bank of America account the same day. The funds cleared faster than usual (same day) but this wasnt a surprise since it was a Bank of America check going into a Bank of America account.

April 11'th - I waited a few days just incase and shipped the merchandise the 11'th.

April 16'th - Even though I didnt realize it until just a few days ago, the amount of $414 was evidentally deducted from my account the 16'th (according to my online baking summary)

Apirl 25'th - I opened a Bank of America letter (that was postmarked on the 19'th) stating the check in question was "negotiated through Bank of America and returned unpaid by the makers bank (in other words, the BofA in CA).

I dont know what kind of case I have and what I can do to get my money back. Im right out of college trying to make ends meet and a $414 draft is very discouraging.