• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

University Facebook admin extortion

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

oncampusrepairs

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Maryland

Hi all,
I am a University of Maryland student who repairs iPhones for other students. People love my service because it saves them spending $200 for a new phone at the Apple store when they crack them, and I fix them in an hour so they don't have to go without their phone. Anyway every college has a Facebook page called Free and For Sale(you need a UMD email to get in), and students use this to advertise services and businesses. I use this once a week and get tons of responses. The admin noticed this and said he was going to ban me unless I pay him a cut of my profits. I told him no because the group is free, but he didn't care and banned me. He is charging people to use something Facebook created to be free. Whoever joined the group first gets to be the admin, so he was just lucky. Is there anything I can do or is this guy just going to control all the on campus businesses? I would be willing to spend a good amount of money to make sure this bozo is gone, as I pay for college by fixing iPhones and this guy is ruining me.
Thanks in advance!

jiggy78

Why shouldn't he get a cut? Presumably he is spending volunteer time on this and you are benefiting greatly (or would be benefiting if you weren't so cheap).

Mass_Shyster

Anyway every college has a Facebook page called Free and For Sale(you need a UMD email to get in), and students use this to advertise services and businesses.
You have no legal recourse to force the admin to let you advertise.