• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

victim of counterfeit cashiers check scam

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Veronica1228

It's cool. Kiss-kiss. Hug-hug. All better. :)

Seriously though, I agree that it stinks that innocent people continue to get taken by this scam. I don't know what kind of news articles or information have been published on this, but I didn't hear about it until I came to this site. It turns out that many, many people fall for this scam.

Unfortunately, I haven't heard of any of them getting their money back. :(

Jypsy

When I worked in banking, many years ago, there were courses we could take voluntarily that taught things like how to recognize counterfeit money and checks, etc. We weren't held accountable but we did have a superior knowledge of what things to look for and in my opinion, the bank manager wasn't prudent enough. At the very least, he should have known about this scam and warned the customer and at the most, he could have required a 7 to 10 day "hold" on the funds until they cleared.

For the FBI and the bank to treat this victim like he's totally responsible is how scams like this perpetuate. I think the bank manager dropped the ball.

I agree with whoever said to look for a good attorney.

Take it to the media, too and demand that banks take more responsibility for these types of transactions. The average person should not be required to have expertise in these areas, whereas it would save a lot of people a lot of time and money if banks would exercise better judgement. They are the ones with the experience, not your average citizen.

Last edited:
Jypsy said: