• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What happens when a seller on eBay doesn't accept to give you a refund?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Satycorn

Hi everyone!

I'm relatively new to eBay but I know about it's policy, that when you get your item damaged or different than the description, you should contact the seller and open a case if you don't arrange anything.
My question is, if the seller and the buyer live very far from each other and the item comes damaged. The buyer wants to get a refund but the seller totally ignores, he opens the case and eBay/Paypal gives a refund to the buyer. But what happens to the seller? Do they ever take any money from him? Where does eBay/Paypal give the refund from?
It's really confusing and I'd be grateful if anyone would help.
Thank!

Hi everyone!

I'm relatively new to eBay but I know about it's policy, that when you get your item damaged or different than the description, you should contact the seller and open a case if you don't arrange anything.
My question is, if the seller and the buyer live very far from each other and the item comes damaged. The buyer wants to get a refund but the seller totally ignores, he opens the case and eBay/Paypal gives a refund to the buyer. But what happens to the seller? Do they ever take any money from him? Where does eBay/Paypal give the refund from?
It's really confusing and I'd be grateful if anyone would help.
Thank!
The money returned to the buyer comes from the seller. Why, did you think eBay or PayPal covered those losses? They're a venue.

Satycorn

The money returned to the buyer comes from the seller. Why, did you think eBay or PayPal covered those losses? They're a venue.